Book Review: Golem by PD Alleva + Book Gift!

AD—Gifted. I received a copy of Golem in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions remain my own. See my review policy for more details.

As we head into the Halloween season, I am pleased to share my timely review of PD Alleva’s horror novel, golem with all of you.

golem is a chilling read that cleverly weaves the natural and the supernatural into a story that leaves the reader wondering where the line between truth and horror is blurred. here is why golem is perfect for the Halloween season and why it should be on your fall reading list.

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway at the bottom of this post for a chance to win one of two paperback copies or one hardcover copy of golem with its fantastic recently reissued cover.

From the book

On November 1, 1951, war hero John Ashton was promoted to detective. His first task: find the district attorney’s missing daughter. But the only clue to him is Alena Francon, a socialite sculptor and socialite interned at the Bellevue psychiatric facility.

Alena has a story for the new detective. A story so outlandish that John Ashton refuses to heed the warning. Alena admits to having embodied Golem, a demonic force, in her statue. A demon so deep that it has infiltrated every part of New York’s infrastructure. Worse still, she uses children to serve as corporeal hosts for her demonic army, unleashing a horde of demons on our world.

When Alena’s confidante, Annette Flemming, confirms Golem’s existence, John is sent on a collision course where fate and destiny are in jeopardy, and the future of the human race hangs in the balance.

The devil is in the details!

Fans of The Silence of the Lambs, Clive Barker, John Connolly, old Stephen King and Anne Rice will be riveted by this edge-of-your-seat psychological horror thriller with a story that rips out the heart of humanity and throws it into a slab to be celebrated.

golem by PD Alleva Book Review

golem seamlessly blends elements of Greek mythology, Jewish legend, and Satanism in a modern setting to create an immersive storytelling experience that keeps the reader turning the pages.

The narrative unfolds in three parts, with the first part establishing the mystery and following John Ashton on his investigation. John is dedicated to his work and is determined to succeed where all others have failed. At first, he treats Alena with a healthy dose of skepticism despite the fact that she is his only lead on the disappearance of the district attorney’s daughter. However, as the story continues, even the reader feels the nagging instinct that Alena’s story has a perverse tinge of truth.

The second part of the book mainly explores Alena’s story and introduces horror elements that touch on reality. Alena claims that she created a depraved monster called a Golem that seeks to corrupt the world and spread its darkness. Her claim is perceived as the delirium of a madwoman; she is imprisoned and declared insane.

However, Alena is an independent woman who suffered an agonizing loss. She withdrew into herself but unleashed her inner creativity and emotion in her art. Eventually, her art gave birth to a creature that mixed her passion and her talent with his bottled pain and her bitter sadness.

this creature, golem, first he is innocent and willing to learn. He respects Alena and quietly explores her curiosity about the world. However, he also possesses a disconcerting sense of ancient wisdom. As the story progresses, he reveals his cruel nature and embraces the depraved side of her. He portrays himself as a dangerous and charismatic character who uses his charm to his advantage to spread darkness and debauchery.

The final part of the book brings together John’s research and Alena’s story in a fluid narrative where the supernatural filters into the natural. The reader feels the emotion explode off the page and into the minds of the characters. Personalities clash and good collides with evil. Humanity itself beholds the face of her doom.

golem by PD Alleva Book Review: Prose and Narrative

PD Alleva invites readers into the story with engaging and descriptive writing. The prose is crisp and sharp; explore details and smaller narratives within the overall narrative. As the book promises, the devil is in the details.

golem it slowly builds up tension and creates chills in all the right places. The horror elements mix visual writing with the psychological games of Golem. This book is not for the faint of heart or the easily activated, as it contains violent imagery, potential triggers, and potentially disturbing concepts. However, if you take the book for what it is: an excellent horror read, these elements become essential to the narrative and are incorporated into the book perfectly.

golem by PD Alleva Book Review: Is golem for you?

I recommend Golem to lovers of good storytelling, to readers who enjoy texts that make them question their reality and wonder. And yes, and for all horror fans. The book is the perfect read for the fall, and since it’s a big book, it will last for multiple immersive reading sessions.

Paperback and hardcover copies of Golem by PD Avella Giveaway!

Claim your free entry below for a chance to win one of two paperback copies or one hardcover copy of golem! You must press “enter” on the sweepstakes dropdown tabs in order to be entered and win. US, UK and Canada tickets only. The first place winner will receive a hardcover copy of Golem and the two finalists will each receive a paperback copy of this fantastic read.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What aspects of golem connected with you? Does this book sound like a good addition to your fall reading list? Tell me below!

If you loved this post, check out my reviews section for more recommendations on what to read next.

Cover image: Courtesy of PD Alleva

Leave a Comment